Dusting the Cobwebs off Docker

Status report: working with GitHub and Telescope once more

Royce Ayroso-Ong
3 min readJan 22, 2021
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

For this week I was tasked with reviewing three Telescope pull requests in hopes to get them merged by our 1.5 release. Now, others have taken on larger responsibilities, but for me this was a tall order as I have relatively little experience when it comes to working with Telescope’s web technologies. Though, I am not one to shy away from the challenge and set to it, the problem was that I haven’t worked with Telescope in quite a while and I was quite rusty in the development process to say the least. Even though I was simply reviewing the code — I needed to checkout each and every PR locally on my machine to see if they each pass my review checklist.

Remembering How to Setup the Development Environment

I’ll keep this section short, but basically I spent a good chunk of my week reading and re-reading Telescope’s documentation to try and understand how it all works once again. The last thing I want to do is to break the production branch and have somebody clean up my mess (thinking about it gives me sweaty hands, it happens). To sum it up, after hours of tinkering around, following the guides: lab 6, front-end development doc 1, front-end development doc 2, and environment setup — I can finally download GitHub CLI to checkout the PRs I need to review.

Fix #1458: Update 500 error Improve styling on error UI for failed search

This pull request was a simple styling fix which is why I wanted to start here. Though the code looked right to me and the PR itself was done properly, it still needed to be tested. This prompted me to dust the cobwebs off Docker and set up a fresh environment with GitHub CLI installed (as stated earlier). That way I can checkout his PR and test the front-end styling right here on my machine. I went through the PR checklist and everything was looking completely fine to me. What I was mostly looking for was to see if Sonechca’s fix was responsive to different screen sizes, luckily Firefox has the option to inspect the webpage and resize the screen to emulate a tablet or phone.

This is the amazing updated design that Sonechca was able to implement:

However, after testing his changes in my own browser, I found that it fails to adapt to different screen sizes, mainly on mobile:

I sent a request to update his styling to accommodate screen resizing. For now, I am on to work on the two other PRs (#2, #3).

--

--

Royce Ayroso-Ong

Student at Seneca for Software Development. Stay awhile, and lets learn something new together!